The Buzz North Florida's Pure Rock 100.5

BET Awards Recap

Jul 01, 2014 -- 3:27pm

BET Awards 2014 Recap, Winners

The 2014 BET Awards was held over the weekend at the Nokia Theaters in LA. The show was hosted by comedian Chris Rock with live performaces by Pharrell, Chris Brown, Trey Songz, Lil Wayne, Nicki Minaj, Usher, Jhene Aiko, John Legend, August Alsina, Missy Elliot, Iggy Azalea, T.I., Jay-Z, and Beyonce! Well, Jay-Z & Beyonce's performance was pre-recorded from their "On The Run Tour" Saturday night in Cincinnati. Pharrell opened the show with his hit "Come Get It Bae" and had special guest Missy Elliot join him on stage. Pharrell also took home two awards that night. August Alsina won Best New Artist, and had an amazing perfomace with Trey Songz and Chris Brown on stage. Iggy Azalea joined the stage with T.I. before performing her hit "Fancy", but lost Best Female Artist to 5 time winner Nicki Minaj. Lil Wayne was the second to perform, and kept the party going with his hit "Believe Me". Usher hit the stage with a medley of past hits ending with his new hit "Good Kisser".  Lionel Richie accepted the Lifetime Achievement Award, but BET misspelled his name on TV! Even though they missed the name, Lionel didn't miss his performace when he played his hits on stage! Read the full recap here. Photo:


2014 BET Award winners:


Best Female R&B/Pop Artist



Best Collaboration

Beyoncé f/ JAY Z – "Drunk In Love"


Best Female Hip Hop Artist

Nicki Minaj


Best Group

Young Money


Best Male R&B/Pop Artist

Pharrell Williams


Subway Sportsman of the Year

Kevin Durant Subway Sportswoman of the Year


Serena Williams Video of the Year

Pharrell Williams – "Happy"


Best Male Hip Hop Artist



Best Actress

Lupita Nyong’o


Best Gospel Artist

Tamela Mann


Best New Artist

August Alsina


Best Actor

Chiwetel Ejiofor


YoungStars Award

KeKe Palmer


Best Movie

12 Years a Slave


Video Director of the Year

Hype Williams


Best International Act: Africa

Davido (Nigeria)

Return to: What's Poppin'?! Blog

Contact Us Submit a PSA Contest Rules
Advertise Submit an Event Terms of Service
Job Opportunities   Privacy Policy
EEO Annual Report    


Copyright ©   WTMG-FM. All Rights Reserved. Internet Development by Triton Digital Media